Thoughtfactory: Rhizomes

bark, trees, roads, bushland

winter solstice

I made the photo below in the late afternoon of June 20--winter solstice--when I was on a poodlewalk with Maleko. As we were wandering back to the car through the bushland reserve in Waitpinga after a photo session with a medium format film camera  I made the photo in passing just before dusk.

 I didn't think much of it at the time, and I forgot all about it--until I uploaded the photos to check  what the possibilities there were for  from my  recent scoping for another film-based  photoshoot.  This looked to be a good possibility--one worth checking out more consciously.   

Even though it had been rain all day  I decided to go  looking  for the 2 trees this afternoon.  It took me 2 hours of wandering around amongst the passing showers  before I  finally found these 2 trees.  I judged that the subject matter was an afternoon photo session rather than a morning one and that it  needed soft afternoon light and a  blueish sky,  rather than dull light and overcast skies.  

It even looked good enough to consider  a 5x4 view camera    photo session. This  would  start to  provide some recent material to contribute to the  large format Friends of Photography Group email sharing their ongoing   view camera  work. Up to now, most of the photographic subject matter that  I've come across  in this bushland  reserve doesn't warrant using the large format equipment. This is a step forward.

Thankfully, Maleko stays close by me during the photo session --he'll even waiting patiently,  if he's asked to do so:   

But then he needs to be rewarded with a walk before the photo session and afterwards. It is  his walk as much as mine.  Well, it is our walk--we go exploring  new territory together.   

Update

The rain cleared this afternoon and I  returned to the above location  with a medium format film camera and tripod.   As I had the foresight to signpost  the various tracks  to the location yesterday afternoon,  the 2 trees were relatively easy for me to find. Even so I still walked past them and I had to retrace my steps. 

The next step is the 5x4 version.