Thoughtfactory: Rhizomes

bark, trees, roads, bushland

leaves + light

The picture below  is another one of my  attempts  at converting a colour digital file to b+w. A previous attempt on an earlier post  is here. These  pictures of the details of  the landscape were made whilst I was on a poodlewalk in the local Waitpinga bushland in the southern Fleurieu Peninsula of South Australia.  

These b+w conversions haven't been successful using an old digital camera and I've never been able to even approach  the rich tonality  that Sebastian Salgado achieved with his  impressive b+w Kuwait photos.   One response has been  to return to using b+w film. 

In both cases my  intimate bushland pictures  were made with a very  old  Sony NEX-7 digital camera (2011),  a  modern Voigtlander closeup adaptor, and a vintage Leica M 35mm Summicron f.2.0 lens (1960s). This  combination is trying to keep my old  photographic equipment going rather than discarding it.

 The old  Sony NEX-7 is small,  compact and light, has a  rangefinder-style body and  is very  primitive digitally speaking.  I am continually surprised that the camera  is still functioning.   I've had the Leica M 35mm Summicron since the late 1970s.

 The reason I  went with Sony is because  its e-mount enabled me to use non-Sony lenses and  the Sony/Leica combination has worked very well over the years It's all manual focus and the combination is  not all that  different from using an old rangefinder film camera.  The Voigtlander close up adaptor has given the combination a new niche -- a macro approach --- which  supplements the main digital camera (a Sony a7r III ). 

Eventually I will need to replace the Sony NEX-7. The means something much  more expensive,   far more sophisticated given the technological advancements,  and packed with more features than I need or would ever use.  I hope the Sony NEX-7 keeps going.